Editorial Board

Nobhojit Roy ([email protected])

Dr. Nobhojit Roy, completed his undergraduate and postgraduate training from Bombay University, and then trained as a Trauma Surgeon in Mumbai, and the UK. He also holds an MPH from John Hopkins University and has an interest in Trauma surgical outcomes. From 1995 to 1997, he worked in NGO hospitals serving the poor, first with Sewa- Rural in Gujarat, and then in Uttarakhand. In 1997 he joined the Bhabha Atomic Research Centre (BARC) hospital (Government of India), which is a secondary and tertiary healthcare provider to 100,000 people in Mumbai, India. Since 2004, he has served as the Chief of Surgery at the BARC Hospital. His areas of research publications are preventable trauma deaths, bombing and terrorism-related blast injuries, trauma scoring systems and prehospital care in resource-poor settings. Dr. Nobhojit, has been the Principal Investigator (Mumbai) of the WHO Trauma Patient Safety Checklist, which was implemented across 14 trauma centres around the world. He is a WHO senior expert for setting the standards of surgical skills and competence for mass casualty events, after sudden-onset large scale disasters. As a member of the WHO advisory group on Mass Gatherings, Nobs focuses on South Asia.

Dr. Nobhojit is a visiting Professor for Public Health at the Jamsetji Tata Centre of Disaster Management, at the Tata Institute of Social Sciences, Mumbai, India. He has been a member of the task force of the Planning Commission of India, Sub-committee for Disaster preparedness, and he is a member of the Ministry of Health committee on Chemical, Biological, Radiological and Nuclear (CBRNe) preparedness. He has served on the board of Directors of the World Association of Disaster and Emergency Medicine (WADEM) since 2009. He is on the editorial boards of the journals: Pre-hospital and Disaster Medicine, Disaster Medicine and Public Health Preparedness and Journal of Trauma Management & Outcomes and has been a faculty of the Definitive Surgery in Trauma Care course of the International Association for Trauma and Intensive Care.

Click here to support US